The following candidates were successful in the election for a place on the above sub-committee for the forthcoming session 2017-2018: 

  • Jacqueline Fitzpatrick, Glasgow Kelvin College
  • Monica Medina, Edinburgh College
  • Khadija Mohammed, University of the West of Scotland
  • Mary Osei-Oppong, North Lanarkshire

Thanks are due to Kamran Siknder (Glasgow Local Association) and Yahiya Shaikh (Glasgow Local Association) who served on the Committee during session 2016-17, and who unfortunately had to stand down before their term was due to end in June 2018, for family reasons. Many thanks to both for their contributions to the work of the Committee. 

Four members of the Equality Committee will also serve on the Anti Racist Sub Committee during 2017-18. They are:

  • Derek Ross (Aberdeenshire)
  • Samreen Shah (Glasgow)
  • Edith Swinley (Fife)
  • Nicola Dasgupta (East Ayrshire).