Almost 400 members of the EIS (including the Office Bearers, members of Council and Delegates from Local Associations and Self-Governing Associations (EIS-FELA and EIS-ULA)) are eligible to attend and vote at the AGM.

The AGM is divided into a number of discrete sessions each with its own particular item of business to be overtaken. 


The Formal Opening Session

This session embodies the traditions of the Institute which was founded in 1847. After a roll of delegates and obituaries, there will be a a civic welcome from Depute Provost, Councillor Bob Band of Perth and Kinross Council. 

The President, Mr Phil Jackson, welcomes the guests from kindred organisations in the United Kingdom and Ireland, together with other trade union and official guests, and then gives his retiring address.

The Convener of the Board of Examiners then presents the members who have been admitted as Fellows of The Educational Institute of Scotland at a meeting of Fellows held earlier. 

The new Fellows in the ordinary category are those who have been recommended by their Local Associations and accepted by the Board of Examiners. There may also be one or more Fellows in the special or honorary category that is, "persons who have rendered signal service to education”. 

The Convener gives a special oration on each of the special/honorary category Fellows. One of the new Fellows replies on behalf of himself/herself and his/her colleagues.

The incoming President (Tommy Castles, South Lanarkshire) and Vice-President (Patricia Duncan, Perth and Kinross) are then introduced to the meeting and make short speeches. 

The outgoing President (Phil Jackson, Angus) and Vice-President (Tommy Castles) are then presented with badges commemorating their year of office. The final business of the formal session is the declaration of the election of the incoming Council.


First Business Session

It is an important function of the Annual General Meeting to review the work of Council and its Committees undertaken during the previous session. 

This work comes before the consideration of motions dealing with new policies. Constitutionally, the AGM must either, approve, disapprove or amend every decision taken by Council during the previous year.


Subsequent Business Sessions

Once the decisions of Council (and its Committees) for the previous year have been approved, changes to the EIS Constitution are then considered followed by the election of AGM delegates to the Standing Orders Committee, Disciplinary Committee and Appeals Committee.


Consideration of Motions and Amendments

The remainder of the Annual General Meeting is taken up with debating the motions and amendments which have been submitted by Council, Local Associations and Self-Governing Associations.

The motions and amendments are grouped into subject headings and blocks of time are allocated to motions under each heading.  The principal subject headings for debate are as follows:

This year there are 64 motions to be debated as follows:

  • 26 on Education matters;
  • 2 on Employment Relations matters; 
  • 4 on Equality matters;
  • 13 on Salaries matters;
  • 19 on Organisation matters.                                                                                                       


Fringe and other events

The EIS operates a number of fringe events at the AGM, offering the opportunity for external organisations to speak to delegates in order to raise awareness of key issues.  

This year includes Hannah McCulloch (Child Poverty Action Group Policy Officer), Murdo Fraser MSP (Better Together), and Dennis Canavan (Yes Scotland) to speak at the 'Poverty, Social Justice and Education' Fringe Event on Friday 6 June.