The EIS Anti-Racist Sub Committee advises the Equality Committee on race equality projects, policies and campaigns. Its membership is drawn from the Equality Committee and also from among the Black and Minority Ethnic (BME) members of the union, who serve for two years.

The following members will serve as co-opted members during the period 2018-2020: 

  • Wahid Ahmad (Glasgow)

  • Khadija Mohammed (University of the West of Scotland)

  • Mary Osei-Oppong (North Lanarkshire)

  • Daljit Sandhu (Aberdeenshire)

Thanks are due to the members who served during 2016-18, and who contributed much to the Institute’s anti-racist work: Yahiya Shaik, Kamran Siknder, Monica Medina and Jacqueline Fitzpatrick.

The members of the Equality Committee who will serve on the Anti-Racist Sub Committee during session 2018-19 are:

  • Martin Bayliss (Aberdeenshire)

  • Tom Britton (Edinburgh)

  • Andrew O’Halloran (Dumfries and Galloway)

The Committee’s current priorities include exploring educational provision and guardianship services for refugee children and young people, promoting anti-racist education, marking Black History Month,  preparing for anti-racist marches and rallies, and preparing for STUC Black Workers’ Conferences and events.


For more information contact Natalie Carroll.