The Curriculum

Created on: 14 Nov 2019

Schools in Scotland provide a curriculum (meaning all the things that are taught in nursery, school and college) for children and young people aged 3 to 18. The aim of the Scottish curriculum is to make each child a:

  • Successful learner
  • Confident individual
  • Responsible citizen
  • Effective contributor

The curriculum covers eight areas:

  • Expressive arts
  • Health and wellbeing
  • Languages 
  • Mathematics
  • Religious and moral education 
  • Science 
  • Social studies 
  • Technologies

Pupils in 'the senior phase' – years 4, 5 and 6, within secondary schools can study various qualifications in Scottish schools, across these curriculum areas.

School ethos

Schools in Scotland aim to be places where everyone can feel safe, included and involved, and where everyone can achieve. Scottish schools aim to provide an excellent education for every child.